SWARARAGA EVENTS 

CONTACT FOR DETAILS

Kalyani Mantripragada

 248 982 6625

Suma Nittala

614 772 3824

Kamalakar Kanajam

408 887 2177

Krishna Anumolu

917 514 8712

Bhadram Danturthi

408 887 2177

Subha Mamandur

 832 863 8433

SWARARAGA - IV

June  21st 1 PM EST/ 12 PM CST/ 10 AM PST

Indian Classical  Music Event

( Vocal or Instruments)

Indian classical music is one of the oldest art forms of the world. The origins can be found in the Vedas, which are the oldest scriptures in the Hindu tradition, it has also been significantly influenced by, or syncretised with, Indian folk music and Persian music.

Indian classical music can be divided into two broad categories: Hindustani and Carnatic.

Hindustani music is mainly found in North India. Khyal and dhrupad are its two main forms, but there are several other classical and semi-classical forms. There is a significant amount of Persian influence in Hindustani music in terms of the instruments, style of presentation, and ragas such as Hijaz Bhairav, Bhairavi, Bahar, and Yaman.

Carnatic music, from South India, tends to be significantly more structured than Hindustani music. Examples of this are the logical classification of ragas into melakarthas, and the use of fixed compositions similar to Western classical music. Carnatic raga elaborations are generally much faster in tempo and shorter than their equivalents in Hindustani music.

PAST EVENTS

SWARARAGA - III

Indian Classical  Music Event

May 16th - 1 PM EST/  10 AM PST

SWARARAGA - II

Indian Classical  Music Event

May 3rd - 1 PM EST/  10 AM PST

SWARARAGA - I

Indian Classical  Music Event

April 25th - 12 PM EST

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
15528 60th Ave North | Plymouth, MN  55446 | info@swaravedika.org | Tel: 732-543-6320  
501(c)(3) Corporation | Tax-ID: 81-2634665

© 2017 by Swaravedika. Icons by Icons8.